I talk about ink

There are two very distinct ways to feel about tattoos, apparently. I think there were, actually, but today most people fall under the first derivative of the bell curve. Am I using these statistics terms correctly? I sure hope so.

Before, one either maligned those who got inked or was the one that got inked. But it really boiled down to thinking of tattoos as either poison or art. But I think that most of the people who judged a book by its cover are dead or dying (sorry), so what is left is a group of people who want tattoos or have tattoos. But there is a small third group (maybe more, but they are irrelevant here) wherein people who neither have nor want one exist. But their distinction from the majority does not signify anything particularly important about them. They exist, and that is it.

What I am really trying to say is that I belong in this third group. I have no tattoos, and I have none. I have nothing against it, really. But I also don’t have much in favor of it. Nothing of corporeal form has struck me as significant enough to permanently emblazon onto my skin. There is always a chance, though, that something may eventually present itself.

If I had to get a tattoo, I would really have no idea what to get. That is how I am sure that I do not care for them. However, I have seen photos of tattoos that were carbon copies (not literally, you nut) of the person’s parent(s)’s handwriting, an idea I really, really admire. The thing is that in most cases, the person’s parent(s) died of something other than old age or diseases that accompany it. I would not feel right getting such a tattoo unless I were confronted with similar circumstances. And, like most anyone ever, I would rather not face such a thing.

Basically, if asked what tattoo I would get in the future, I have no reasonable answer.

Maybe the name “ANDY” with a backward “N” on the bottom of my foot.

P.S. I am trying to improve myself daily, and writing more is part of that plan. Expressing myself, really. I read somewhere that, in essence, the only way to close the gap between proficiency and expertise is through sheer practice and just grinding the daily grind.

This is me on the first day of that daily grind, the first of what I am sure will be many first days.

Leave a Reply

